LRIW Announces 2014 Scholarship Winners

August 27, 2014.  The League of Railway Industry Women (LRIW) would like to congratulate its three 2014 LRIW scholarship recipients.  Once again, the LRIW Scholarship Committee received applications from an outstanding group of students. This year, each student was awarded $3,000.

The LRIW Annual Scholarship Program awards scholarships to qualified students from around the rail industry who are pursuing undergraduate and postgraduate degrees. LRIW recognizes the importance of education and is proud to offer financial assistance to students working to achieve their academic goals.  In 2014, LRIW also awarded it’s first Connie Sumara Memorial Scholarship to honor former LRIW President Connie Sumara.

The scholarship winners for 2014/15 school year are:

  • Shannon Costello: Shannon is the daughter of long-time LRIW member Cary Costello, fleet maintenance coordinator at Chicago Freight Car Leasing Co. Shannon is attending Eastern Illinois University and pursuing a degree in elementary education. In addition to strong academic credentials, Shannon volunteers for Special Olympics, Standing Stone and the Salvation Army. Shannon is the recipient of the first annual Connie Sumara Memorial Scholarship.
  • Merry Nemeth: Merry has been a member of the LRIW since 2008 and currently serves on the LRIW’s Board of Directors. Merry is Manager of Project Administration for RailWorks Track Services. Merry holds an associate’s degree in accounting and is pursuing a bachelor’s degree in project management from Bellevue University in Nebraska. In 2013, Athena International recognized Merry as an ATHENA Award nominee for her significant career achievements and also for her community involvement. Merry has walked more than 120 miles since 2009 to raise over $6,000 for breast cancer research.
  • Ben Tizzano: Ben is the son of Carolyn Tizzano from LRIW corporate member, RailResource. Ben is attending Drexel University and pursuing a degree in mechanical engineering technology. He is a member of the American Society of Mechanical Engineers.

More information about the LRIW scholarship program, including how members can contribute, is available online here