Previous Recipients of the Connie Sumara Memorial Scholarship

Each year, the League of Railway Industry Women awards scholarships to qualified students from around the rail industry who are pursuing undergraduate and postgraduate degrees.

In 2014, the LRW Board of Directors voted unanimously to name one of its annual scholarships in memory of former LRW President, Connie Sumara.

Previous Recipients:



  • Jacob Hohlfelder – University of Nebraska, Actuarial Science – Miner Enterprises
  • DeAndra Roache – Dominican University, Masters in Conflict Resolution – Amtrak
  • Learn more about our 2016 recipients.


  • Connor Bailey – University of Illinois, Materials Science & Engineering – TTX Company
  • Benjamin Dobies – University of Pittsburgh, Mechanical Engineering – A. Stucki Company
  • Laura Steckbeck – University of Oklahoma, Communications
  • Learn more about our 2015 recipients.


  • Shannon Costello – Eastern Illinois University, Elementary Education – Chicago Freight Car Leasing Co.
  • Merry Nemeth – Bellevue University, Project Management – RailWorks Track Services
  • Ben Tizzano – Drexel University, Mechanical Engineering Technology – RailResource
  • Learn more about our 2014 recipients.


  • Joseph M. Culligan – Georgia Institute of Technology, Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering – TTX Company
  • Benjamin Stephen Dobies – University of Pittsburgh, Mechanical Engineering – A. Stucki Company
  • Mitchell James Olsem – DePaul University, Computer Science – Iowa Northern Railway
  • Learn more about our 2013 recipients [pdf]

Please contact Krista Leben, LRW Scholarship Chair at for more information or to contribute.