Scholarship Program

booksEach year, the League of Railway Industry Women awards scholarships to qualified students from around the rail industry who are pursuing undergraduate and postgraduate degrees. LRIW recognizes the importance of education and is proud to offer financial assistance to students working to achieve their academic goals.

The LRIW Scholarship Program provides an opportunity for any member of LRIW, corporate member company, or an individual’s dependent to submit an application for scholarship funds.

Connie Sumara Memorial Scholarship: In 2014, the LRIW board of directors voted unanimously to name one of its annual scholarships in memory of former LRIW President Connie Sumara.  Ms. Sumara, one of the founders of the organization and its longest-serving president, passed away in March 2014. She was a dedicated employee of Chicago Freight Car Leasing Co. (CFCL) for 26 years, beginning her career as office manager and ultimately working her way up to Vice President and Director of Customer Support before retiring in November of 2012.

2016 Scholarship Application & Requirements

The 2016 LRIW application has been posted. Deadline to apply is June 17, 2016. Apply now!

Previous Scholarship Recipients

The fall 2016 LRIW scholarship application will be available in the spring of 2016.

Please contact LRIW Scholarship Chair, Kathy Keeney at with any questions about the LRIW Scholarship Program or to contribute financially.