Nominate the Next LRIW Outstanding Woman of the Year – Deadline July 31, 2017

WASHINGTON, DC, May 25, 2017The League of Railway Industry Women (LRIW) is now accepting nominations for its 2017 Outstanding Woman of the Year Award, co-sponsored by Progressive Railroading.

For two decades, the LRIW has been recognizing women who have made significant contributions to the rail industry through their leadership, dedication, and vision. Women working in the North American rail industry are eligible to receive this award.

“Women contribute a great deal to the progression of the railroading industry,” said Jodi Heldt, LRIW President. “This award helps recognize their achievements and contributions before an audience of their peers, happening this year at Railway Interchange 2017, in Indianapolis, IN.”

“We all know a woman who goes the extra mile, helps make strategic decisions that propel the business forward, looks after the company’s best interests, motivates and encourages staff, and notably does so much more,” said Sally Boven, LRIW Awards Chair. “Maybe that woman is you. Help us acknowledge these amazing leaders by nominating someone today.”

Nomination criteria and the official nomination form can be downloaded from the LRIW website until July 31, 2017.

The 2017 recipient will be honored on September 18 at the general session & keynote address of Railway Interchange in conjunction with the LRIW’s 2017 Annual Conference.

Past winners include: Metro-North Railroad’s Anamaria Bonilla (2016), GO Transit’s Mary Proc (2015), Alaska Railroad Corp.’s Wendy Lindskoog (2014), Norfolk Southern Corp.’s Deb Butler (2013), and International Decal Management Corp.’s Tracy DeLeon (2012).

About the League of Railway Industry Women

Founded in 1997, the League of Railway Industry Women is a dedicated organization providing leadership and support for the personal and professional development of women at every level in their railroading careers and railway-related business endeavours. Its mission is to create a forum within the rail industry that provides women with the opportunity to achieve a broader understanding of the railroad business. Learn more at

For further information: Media Contact: Emilia Marceta, LRIW Chair, Public Relations & Outreach, E-Mail:; LRIW Outstanding Woman of the Year Nomination Contact: Sally Boven, LRIW Chair, Awards, E-Mail: