LRW 2018 Connie Sumara Memorial Scholarship Open for Applications

Washington, DC, June 18, 2018 – The League of Railway Women (LRW) is accepting applications for the 2018 Connie Sumara Memorial Scholarship.

This $1,500 scholarship will be awarded to a woman involved in the rail industry who is pursuing post-secondary studies.

“Education is the foundation for connecting and cultivating women in rail,” said LRW President Tanis Peterson. “We know that pursuing post-secondary studies can be costly and want to provide this sum to a deserving student and help her get one step closer to achieving her goals.”

This scholarship honors the memory of former LRW President Connie Sumara, one of the founders of the LRW and its longest-serving president.

The scholarship application is available for download until July 13, 2018. The winner will be announced in August.

Applicants must be entering at least their sophomore year (30 plus credits) to qualify. Previous winners are not eligible for this award.

About the League of Railway Women
Founded in 1997, the League of Railway Women is committed to improving the railroad industry by connecting and cultivating women in rail. Its mission is to advance the representation, recognition and opportunities for women, thereby promoting diversity and improving the business results of the railroad industry. Learn more at

For further information: Media Contact: Emilia Marceta, LRW Chair, Public Relations & Outreach, E-Mail:; LRW Scholarship Contact: Krista Leben, LRW Scholarship Chair, E-Mail: