LRIW Now Accepting Nominations for 2015 Outstanding Woman of the Year Award

May 18, 2015. The League of Railway Industry Women (LRIW), an organization that promotes women in railroading, is seeking nominations for its 2015 “Outstanding Woman of the Year” award. For over fifteen years, LRIW has been recognizing women who have made significant contributions to the rail industry through their leadership, dedication, and vision. Any woman who works in the North American rail industry is eligible to receive the award, which is co-sponsored by Progressive Railroading.

“We are excited to announce that 2015 Outstanding Woman of the Year nomination process is now open. There are many women making a positive impact on the rail industry and we feel it’s important to honor them with this award,” said Sally Boven, LRIW Woman of the Year Chair and CEO of Reflective Apparel Factory.

Nomination criteria includes:

  • “She consistently demonstrates vision, initiative, creativity and guidance in a leadership role within her professional railway field.”
  • “She is innovative, a problem-solver and overcomes challenges.”
  • “She brings consistent excellence to her organization and the surrounding community.”

The nomination form and more information about the award can be found on LRIW’s website at: A completed application and supporting documents are due August 14, 2015.

The 2015 recipient will be honored Oct. 5 at the general session of Railway interchange 2015 held in conjunction with the LRIW’s annual conference.

Past winners include Alaska Railroad Corp.’s Wendy Lindskoog, Norfolk Southern Corp.’s Deb Butler, International Decal Management Corp.’s Tracy DeLeon, the Federal Railroad Administration’s Jo Strang, Canadian Pacific’s Cathryn Frankenberg, Union Pacific Railroad’s Lupe Valdez and Farmrail System Inc.’s Judy Petry.

For more information, contact LRIW Woman of the Year Chair Sally Boven at