LRIW Accepting Applications for Annual Scholarship – Apply by July 14, 2017

WASHINGTON, DC, May 30, 2017The League of Railway Industry Women (LRIW) is pleased to announce that applications for its annual $5,000 Connie Sumara Memorial Scholarship are now open. LRIW members, employees of LRIW member corporations, and LRIW-member dependents are encouraged to apply.

“The LRIW recognizes the importance of education and is proud to offer financial assistance to students working to achieve their academic goals,” said Jodi Heldt, LRIW President. “Investing in our members is very important to us.”

The scholarship honors the memory of former LRIW President Connie Sumara, one of the founders of the organization and its longest-serving president. The scholarship application and supporting documents can be downloaded from the LRIW website until July 14, 2017.

Applicants must be entering at least their sophomore year (30 plus credit hours) to qualify. Previous scholarship awardees are not eligible.

The winner will be announced in August.

About the League of Railway Industry Women

Founded in 1997, the League of Railway Industry Women is a dedicated organization providing leadership and support for the personal and professional development of women at every level in their railroading careers and railway-related business endeavours. Its mission is to create a forum within the rail industry that provides women with the opportunity to achieve a broader understanding of the railroad business. Learn more at

For further information: Media Contact: Emilia Marceta, LRIW Chair, Public Relations & Outreach, E-Mail:; Scholarship Nomination Contact: Kathy Keeney, LRIW Chair, Scholarship, E-Mail: